The Order Beds were laid out in 1902. In these beds, you will find over 800 plants laid out according to their families.

Flowering plants known as Angiosperms are divided into two groups. Dicotyledons (with two seed leaves at germination) and Monocotyledons (a single leaf at germination). This area focuses on the dicots and a selection of the three hundred plant families they are divided into.  

Plants are based in families according to their flower structures. They represent some of the dicots, arranged in a linear sequence of families based on a system established by botanists George Bentham (1800-1884) and Joseph Dalton Hooker (1817-1911).

Classification is set to change in the future. Thanks to modern science, botanists can now classify plants according to their DNA sequence. There will be many changes to plant names and families over the coming decades as it is the aim of the Angiosperm Phylogeny Group (APG) to analyse all of the names plants on Earth!